Steve Barghols

Steven l. barghols

Download Resume

Practice Areas:

  • Mediation
  • Arbitration


Best Lawyers
Lawyer of the Year - Oklahoma City:

  • Mediation (2017)
  • Arbitration (2016)
  • Bet-the-Company Litigation and Mediation (2015)
  • Arbitration (2014)
  • Mediation (2012)
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (2011)

Super Lawyers (2006 - 2016)

  • Oklahoma Top 10
  • Oklahoma Top 50
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Energy & Natural Resources

Chambers USA

  • Leading Individual (2013 - 2016)

Professional Memberships and Organizations:

  • Oklahoma Bar Association
  • Oklahoma  Bar Foundation
  • Oklahoma County Bar Association
  • Oklahoma County Bar Foundation
  • Oklahoma City Mineral Lawyers Society
  • William J. Holloway, Jr. American Inn of Court


Steve has been recognized as a Top 10 and Top 50 Oklahoma Super Lawyer, is a Best Lawyer in America in five categories, and is a Band 1 mediator listed by Chambers and Partners U.S.A. He has mediated more than 3,000 matters across Oklahoma.

Active in bar work, Steve has served as president of the Oklahoma County Bar Association, the Oklahoma County Bar Foundation, the William J. Holloway, Jr. American Inn of Court and the Oklahoma City Mineral Lawyers Society. He has served as chair and member of numerous OCBA and Oklahoma Bar Association committees. He is a recipient of the OBA’s Neil A. Bogan Professionalism Award, the OBA's Joe Stamper Distinguished Service Award, the OCBA’s Bobby G. Knapp Bar Leadership Award, and Legal Aid Services of Oklahoma's William G. Paul Oklahoma Justice Award.

Also active in community and civic matters, Steve has served as president of the Edmond Public Schools Foundation, as a trustee and management committee member of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, and as a trustee and executive committee member of the University of Oklahoma’s Associates Council.

Currently, Steve is a member of the Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Panel, U.S.D.C.-W.D. Oklahoma and is a member of the Diversity Advisory Committee for Oklahoma City University. He also serves on the Board of Visitors of The University of Oklahoma’s Honors College.